About the Embassy

The Embassy was established in April 1999, ahead of the beginning - in July of that same year - of the Finnish Presidency of the Council of the European Union, the outcomes of which were to prove pivotal in unlocking the path of Cyprus towards full EU membership (which eventually took place in 2004).

Apart from Finland, the Embassy also covers Estonia, and its primary mission is to foster, expand and deepen bilateral ties and relations, and to promote exchanges and cooperation at all levels, including bilateral, international and within the EU, between Cyprus and the two countries of accreditation.

The Consular section of the Embassy offers a wide range of services, both to Cypriot citizens and to the general public.

The Chancery has been located in the same premises in the centre of Helsinki, at Bulevardi 5, since the Embassy’s establishment.

Before the Embassy was opened in Helsinki, Cyprus used to cover both Finland and Estonia diplomatically from its Embassy in Stockholm, which pre-existed.

The first Ambassador of Cyprus, resident in Helsinki, was Leonidas S. Markides, who presented his Credentials to then President Martti Ahtisaari on 12 April 1999.

Since then, the following diplomats have served as Heads of Mission/Ambassadors at the Embassy:

1999-2001 Leonidas S. Markides
2002-2007 Loria Markides
2007-2010 Thalia Petrides
2011-2014 Filippos Kritiotis (†)
2014-2018 Evangelos Savva
2018-2021 George Zodiates
2021-2022 Gabriella Michaelidou (Chargée d' affaires)
2022- Demetris Samuel